After more than two months at home, I am now back in my small room in our college. The train took 28 hours to reach Mumbai. I still feel myself swaying like I am sitting on a train. It has been raining almost continuously since I arrived, which is a constant here in Mumbai during this season.

I had never thought I would feel so nostalgic. My parents, my friends always tell me – I should always be fine with living away from home given that I have lived away for quite long, that it is something I must have become immune to my now. I have lived away from my parents since kindergarten.

68f939b46ad06e124d3c6456f26eab75

I am just a little confused that I am feeling nostalgic given that it wasn’t so when I was in high school. I used to mingle with the crowd forgetting my home soon after my parents would drop me at my hostel. I could only contact them on weekends and be happy about having talked to them.

Earlier, this passive approach to separation didn’t affect me. I never felt anything wrong with it. I had this weird notion in my head that it somehow made me stronger. But this has become hard to do as I came to college. That indifference seems superficial to me. I am no longer able to suppress that nostalgia.

When I am at home, I am still treated like a kid, which is very endearing in its very own way. Maybe, it’s because I don’t quite remember my childhood all too well. Maybe that’s why I feel more nostalgic now than I did before. I had to be tough while staying at a hostel, I couldn’t make mistakes or be naive.

I think growing up has somehow given me a strange freedom to be a little weak, a little emotional, a little vulnerable. I had to be tough while staying at a hostel, I couldn’t make mistakes or be naive. I think growing up has somehow given me a strange freedom to be a little weak, a little emotional, a little vulnerable.

I used to be a non-thinker boy when I was in high-school. Everything was very clear – black or white.  Nowadays, I think a lot – about everything – the good and the bad and everything in between. And somehow it helps me. Sometimes, it doesn’t. Still, I can’t force myself to stop.

Maybe I am just growing up to understand my own complexities. I am trying to figure it out!

10 thoughts on “Away From Home

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this. I’ve always been fascinated by learning other peoples stories. From early childhood, I longed to escape. However, living in a hostel and no place for hiding, I would probably have come un-done. Funny, for me there was no black or white. I always saw things as shades of grey. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am beginning to see the shades of grey now.
      Earlier, the warden used to tell us what to do and we just did it. For me, it was much simpler then.
      I am not bound but still long to escape.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's have a Conversation ☺

